Veal Scaloppine with Lemon

Standard

 

images[10]

I purchased some veal from a local supplier and, I have to say, it was delicious. The only thing is that this recipe called for cornstarch instead of flour and I’m not sure I liked that. I think I will try with flour next time.

Ingredients:

4 veal scaloppini steaks, very thin

1 lemon – juice and rind

Flour for dredging

butter

olive oil

parsley

Salt and pepper to taste

3/4 cup broth

Directions:

Dredge the veal steaks in the flour.

Heat the butter and oil in a frying pan until very hot.

Make sure the pan is really hot, and then add the veal steaks.

Brown them quickly on one side and turn them over to brown the other side.

Remove from the heat.

Add about 1 T. of flour to a little bit of broth in a bowl. Mix it well and set aside.

Reduce the heat. Add the juice from one lemon and the lemon rind to the pan. Add the chicken broth and the flour/broth mixture. Add the parsley and cook until slightly thickened.

Add back the veal steaks and coat them in the sauce.

Plate them and enjoy!

 

 

 

Leave a comment